Learning and Development

Within the group, all children are supported in developing their potential at their own pace by means of developmentally appropriate play activities and a high level of adult support.

We offer a curriculum which leads to nationally approved learning outcomes and prepares children to progress with confidence to the National Curriculum at the age of 5 years.

We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage, set by The Department of Education and Skills, which sets out 7 areas of learning for the children. These are divided into two areas, the ‘Prime Areas’ and the ‘Specific Areas’.

The Prime Areas are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development

  • Physical development

  • Communication and language

The Specific Areas are:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the world

  • Expressive arts and design

We encourage all children to be involved by having a go, to have their own ideas and to play and explore.